Access keys | Skip to primary navigation | Skip to secondary navigation | Skip to content | Skip to footer |
Problems viewing this site
Home > About statistics > Statistical standards

Australian Statistical Geography Standard

The Australian Statistical Geography Standard (ASGS) is the current geographical framework defined by the Australian Bureau of Statistics (ABS) for disseminating geographically classified statistics.

The ASGS represents a more comprehensive, flexible and consistent way of defining Australia's statistical geography than its predecessor, the Australian Standard Geographical Classification (ASGC). The ASGS has replaced the ASGC in various ABS publications since being introduced on 1 July 2011.

Queensland Government Statistician’s Office (QGSO) ASGS maps

A full range of ASGS Statistical area maps (from smallest area level 1 to level 4) for Queensland are available to download from this site.

ASGS 2016: Statistical area level 1, level 2, level 3 and level 4

ASGS 2011: Statistical area level 1, level 2, level 3 and level 4

Further Information

Conceptually, mesh blocks are the smallest geographic region in the ASGS and form the basis for the larger regions of the ASGS, which includes the two broad groups, the ABS Structure and the Non-ABS Structures.  In practice, statistical units such as households and businesses will be assigned to a mesh block. Data collected from these statistical units will then be compiled into ASGS–defined geographic regions which, subject to confidentiality restrictions, will be available for publication.

Release of the 2016 edition of the ASGS commenced with Volume 1 in July 2016, followed by Volume 2 in September 2016, Volume 3 in July 2017 and Volume 4 in October 2017. Volume 5 is due for release in early 2018. This 2016 standard was used for the 2016 Census of Population and Housing, and will be progressively introduced into other ABS data collections.

Current volumes of the ASGS are as follows:

ASGS: Volume 1 - Main Structure and Greater Capital City Statistical Areas, ABS Cat. no. 1270.0.55.001.

ASGS: Volume 2 - Indigenous Structure, ABS Cat. no. 1270.0.55.002.

ASGS: Volume 3 - Non-ABS Structures, ABS Cat. no. 1270.0.55.003.

ASGS: Volume 4 - Significant Urban Areas, Urban Centres and Localities, Section of State, ABS Cat. no. 1270.0.55.004.

ASGS: Volume 5 - Remoteness Structure, ABS Cat. no. 1270.0.55.005.

For more detail please refer to the Australian Bureau of Statistics website at

Last reviewed 10 November 2017