Meshblock correspondence file (ASGS 2016)

In the correspondence file below, meshblocks have been assigned to various geographic areas as defined under the Australian Statistical Geography Standard (ASGS), 2016 edition. These include:

  • Meshblock (MB)
  • Statistical Area Level 1 (SA1)
  • Statistical Area Level 2 (SA2)
  • Statistical Area Level 3 (SA3)
  • Statistical Area Level 4 (SA4)
  • Greater Capital City Statistical Area (GCCSA)
  • Local Government Area (LGA)
  • Postal Area (POA)
  • State Suburb (SSC)
  • Natural Resource Management Region (NRMR)
  • State Electoral Division (SED)
  • Commonwealth Electoral Division (CED)
  • Tourism Region (TR)
  • Indigenous Location (ILOC)
  • Indigenous Area (IARE)
  • Indigenous Region (IREG)
  • Urban Centre and Locality (UCL)
  • Section of State Range (SOSR)
  • Section of State (SOS)
  • Significant Urban Area (SUA)
  • Remoteness Area (RA)

This correspondence file also contains the following statistics at meshblock level:

  • Land mass area (Albers) in km²
  • Dwelling counts (Census 2016)
  • Usual resident population (Census 2016)


Meshblock correspondence file (ASGS 2016)
zip (11.7 MB)
Last reviewed