Australian Statistical Geography Standard

The Australian Statistical Geography Standard (ASGS) is the current geographical framework defined by the Australian Bureau of Statistics (ABS) for disseminating geographically classified statistics.

The ASGS represents a more comprehensive, flexible and consistent way of defining Australia's statistical geography than its predecessor, the Australian Standard Geographical Classification (ASGC). The ASGS has replaced the ASGC in various ABS publications since being introduced on 1 July 2011.

Queensland Government Statistician’s Office (QGSO) ASGS maps

A full range of ASGS Statistical area maps (from smallest area level 1 to level 4) for Queensland are available to download from this site.

ASGS 2016: Statistical Area Level 1Level 2Level 3 and Level 4

ASGS 2021: Statistical Area Level 1, Level 2, Level 3 and Level 4

Further Information

Conceptually, Mesh Blocks are the smallest geographic region in the ASGS and form the basis for the larger regions of the ASGS, which includes the two broad groups, the ABS Structure and the Non-ABS Structures. In practice, statistical units such as households and businesses will be assigned to a Mesh Block. Data collected from these statistical units will then be compiled into ASGS–defined geographic regions which, subject to confidentiality restrictions, will be available for publication.

Current structures of the ASGS Edition 3, 2021 are as follows:

ASGS: Main Structure and Greater Capital City Statistical Areas.

ASGS: Indigenous Structure.

ASGS: Non-ABS Structures.

ASGS: Significant Urban Areas, Urban Centres and Localities, Section of State.

ASGS: Remoteness Structure.

For more detail please refer to the Australian Bureau of Statistics website.

Last reviewed